Question: How do you reconcile spiritual feelings and experiences you had while a faithful member of the church?

Short answer: I will always treasure spiritual experiences I had while a member of the church.

Long answer:

Personally, I have often pondered the many spiritual experiences I had while a believing member. I remember them. I hold them as sacred and special. I realize that while I had beautiful feelings of peace, love, and joy often, NEVER were those experiences reinforcing to me that the church was true. Instead, I experienced these beautiful feelings during times of struggle to give me hope; while singing beautiful music in praise of higher power; when giving to those in need; in moments of intense vulnerability, when showing love to others, and when love was shown to me. I still experience these beautiful moments.

                For others who have left, I have heard many other explanations. Sometimes, emotions and elation can be, and often are– misinterpreted as “the spirit.” Some spiritual experiences fit the framework of a person’s new belief. Some still struggle to find meaning in past spiritual experiences.

I believe everyone’s spiritual experiences –yours, mine, ours—are valid; They are real; are special, and have meaning. I respect your experience, and ask that you respect mine. I recommend you listen to this podcast, an interview with Anthony D. Miller, and his thoughtful and beautiful insight into spiritual experiences:

Anthony Miller Interview

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started