Question: Do you understand how much hurt, pain, and anger this causes your believing friends and family?

Short answer: Yes.

Long answer:

                I was Mormon for 36 years. Technically, I’m still Mormon. I know the implications. I know what it means to fear the loss of a family member for all eternity. I know what I used to believe would happen if someone broke their temple covenants. It’s serious. I get it.

                My heart is broken for my family and friends who see my leaving as a loss as significant as death. I weep knowing my mom sees this as a failure on her part. Knowing the disappointment she must feel. I know because I have been there. I have felt it. I have lived it.

                I have knowledge that it gets better. I have been on both sides and, it’s ok! I’m going to be ok. And so are you.  It will all be OK. This is a promise.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started